Draft list of stations prepared; officials gear up for elections

Collector K.Baskaran said electronic voting machines will be used for the local body elections to be conducted for the three Municipalities and 22 Town panchayats in the district.

Speaking at an all party meet, to discuss the polling booths to be set up, Mr.Baskaran said that there are 129 wards in the three Municipalities of Thanjavur, Kumbakonam and Pattukottai. In the 22 town panchayats there are 336 wards.

For the 28 district Panchayat council wards, presidents of 589 village panchayats and 4,569 village panchayat wards, elections will be held using ballot papers.

There will be 644 polling booths in urban and town areas and 2,608 polling booths in rural areas.

Political party representatives can convey their objections, if any, to officials in the respective booths. A final list of polling booths will be released on September 12.

The Collector sought the cooperation of the parties for the peaceful conduct of the local body elections.

He also appealed to people to exercise their franchise without fail.

Representatives from AIADMK, DMK, PMK, Congress, CPI, CPI(M), BJP, BSP Nationalist congress participated in the meeting.

C.Suresh Kumar, District Revenue Officer and other officials participated.


Following the guidelines issued by the State Election Commission, a draft list of polling stations has been prepared for the local body elections in the district. Representatives of political parties or prospective contestants can express their opinion on the draft list, said Collector V. Shobana on Saturday.

Addressing an all party meet, Ms. Shobana said that 937 polling stations would be established in rural areas, 134 in town panchayat limits and another 135 in urban municipalities in the district for the elections.

The polling stations would have no more than 1,000 voters for rural places and 1,200 for booths in urban limits. It has been ensured that voters need not walk more than two kilometres to reach the polling stations, she said.

Representatives from AIADMK, DMK, Congress, DMDK, CPI, CPI (M), BJP, PMK and Bahujan Samaj Party participated.

District Revenue Officer T. Christhuraj; Project Officer, District Rural Development Agency, T. Murugan; Personal Assistant to Collector (Elections) R. Premavathy, participated.