Over 60 students from various schools took part in a cycle race organised by the Tiruchi-unit of Sports Development Authority of Tamil Nadu here on Sunday, to mark the birth anniversary celebrations of late Chief Minister C.N. Annadurai.

K. Parthasarathy, Assistant Commissioner of Police (Armed Reserve), inaugurated the race held for boys and girls .

Boys in the under-17 and 15 age categories, covered 20 km, while for those below 13 years of age, the race was for 15 km. For the girls, in under-17 and 15 age category, the race was for 15 km, and those in the under-13 category covered 10 km.

Speaking at the valediction, N. Annavi, former international high jumper, said that cycling was one of the best forms of exercise. He honoured winners in the presence of P. Kalaiselvan, District Sports Officer.

The winners are: Boys: Under-17: 1. A. Pradeep (E.R. Higher Secondary School), 2. A. Nandakumar (St. Joseph's HSS, Somarasampettai), 3. P. Periyannan (St. Joseph's HSS, Somarasampettai); Under-15: 1. Joshua Morial (St. John's Vestry AI HSS), 2. Ajith Kumar (RC HSS), 3. Albert Ashok Kumar (Khajamian HSS); Under-13: Antony Morial (St. John's Vestry AI HSS), 2. S. Ajith (Dhanalakshmi Srinivasan MHSS), 3. T. Santhosh Kumar (Khajamian HSS).

Girls: Under-17: 1. A. Nivedha (Government Girls HSS, Aylapettai), 2. T. Sudha (Government Girls HSS, Somarasampettai), 3. R. Karthiga (Government Girls HSS, Musiri); Under-15: 1. M. Hemamalini (Government Girls HSS, Musiri), 2. S. Sindhuja (Government Girls HSS, Srirangam), 3. R. Suganya (Seventh Day Adventist HSS); Under-13: 1. K. Joeshibha (Servite Nursery and Primary School), 2. J. Jhansi (Ayesha Girls Matriculation School).

Keywords: Cycle raceFitness