"Players from smaller towns have made it to the Indian cricket team. It is all about hard work, determination and desire to make it big."

The 54th annual day of Tiruchi District Cricket Association (TDCA) served as an occasion to reward the performance of teams and individuals during 2011-12, here on Sunday.

“Conducting 365 matches in a year (2011-12) is not an easy task. It indicates the quality of infrastructure in Tiruchi. Umpires are also available in good strength,” said K.S.Viswanathan, secretary, Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA).

He said that the onus was on cricketers to make the best use of the turf wickets in Tiruchi. “Players from smaller towns have made it to the Indian cricket team. It is all about hard work, determination and desire to make it big.”

TNCA, under the leadership of N.Srinivasan, has been spending money in the right direction to promote cricket in city and districts, he added.

Mr.Viswanathan gave away prizes in the presence of K.G.Muralidharan, president, TDCA; Ashok Seshadri, vice-president; and P.Ilangovan, secretary.


First division:

Winner: National Institute of Technology-Tiruchi; Runner-up: Southern Railway Institute; Best batsman: M.Prithiviraj (Pudukottai Recreation Club); Best bowler: M.Saravanan (St. Joseph’s College); Best allrounder: B. Karthick Anand (National Institute of Technology-Tiruchi); Promising youngster: R.Kathiresan (MAP Cricket Club).

Second division:

Winner: Supersonic Cricket Club; Runner-up: J.J. College of Engineering and Technology; Best batsman: M.Udhyakumar (Ponnagar Cricket Club); Best allrounder: A.Babuji (J.J. College of Engineering and Technology).

Third division:

Winner: RKV Cricket Club; Runner-up: Campion Cricket Club; Best batsman: S.Balaji (Srinivasanagar Blues Cricket Club); Best bowler: Y.M.Yuvaraj (Golden Chariot ‘C’ Cricket Club); Best allrounder: P.S.Nirmal Kumar (Campion Cricket Club).

Fourth division:

Winner: Tiruchi United Cricket Club; Runner-up: Golden Arrows Cricket Club; Best batsman: M. Vinoth (Tiruchi United Cricket Club); Best bowler: M.Saddam Hussain (Tiruchi United Cricket Club); Best allrounder: R.Sivasubramanian (Breeze Cricket Club).

Fifth division:

Winner: Dinamalar TVR Cricket Club; Runner-up: Tendulkar Cricket Club; Best batsman: M.Krishnamoorthy (Desert Rose Cricket Club); Best bowler: M.Saravanan (Dinamalar TVR Cricket Club); Best allrounder: P.Vinoth (Jonians Cricket Club); Promising Youngster: M.Balasubramanian (Manapparai Cricket Club).

Schools league tournament:

Winner: Campion Anglo Indian Higher Secondary School; Runner-up: Srirangam Boys Higher Secondary School; Best batsman: R.Santhoshraj (Srirangam Boys HSS); Best bowler: S.Varatharajan (Srirangam Boys HSS); Best allrounder: V.Varun Kalyanaraman (Alpha Group of Schools); Promising youngster: B.Jayanth (Campion Anglo Indian HSS).

Schools knockout tournament:

Winner: Srirangam Boys HSS; Runner-up: Campion Anglo Indian HSS.

Tiruchi district’s cricketer of the year: P.S. Nirmal Kumar.

Keywords: TDCAcricket awards