The two rival Dravidian parties clinched two chairs each of the four Municipalities here in the district, offsetting the performance of each other in its winning Municipal turfs.

The AIADMK bagged the chair of Nagapattinam and Vedaranyam Municipalities, while the DMK secured a win in Sirkazhi and Mayiladuthurai.

The ruling AIADMK secured the chair of the Nagapattinam Municipality for the second consecutive term, with Manjula Chandramohan clinching a victory with a whopping margin of 11,846 votes.

Ms.Chandramohan secured a thumping victory with 23,950 votes as opposed to 12,104 votes secured by Thangapillay.P of the DMK. Of the 36 Wards of Nagapattinam Municipality, the AIADMK secured 27; DMK clinched five; DMDK, Congress and two independents clinched one Ward each.

Vedaranyam Municipality that was a DMK turf in the outgoing municipality was clinched by the AIADMK.

But in comparison to Nagapattinam, the victory margin in Vedaranyam between the winning AIADMK and the DMK candidates was negligible, with the winner Malarkodi Namasivayam securing 7,692 as against Muthulakshmi of the DMK who secured 6, 410 votes.

Of the 21 Wards under the Vedaranyam Municipality, ten wards were clinched by the AIADMK; nine by DMK; and two by Independents.

The status-quo was maintained with the DMK retaining Sirkazhi and Mayiladuthurai Municipalities. Sirkazhi Municipality was secured by the DMK, with its candidate Erayezhil J securing 8,432 votes trumping the 4,642 votes secured by Valarmathi S of the AIADMK. DMK won 12 Wards of the total 24 Wards, with six wards secured by Independents; one by PMK, two each by Congress and DMDK; and one by AIADMK.

In Mayiladuthurai, DMK's Bavani.S won 16,445 votes as against the 13,361 votes secured by Mullainayaki.S of the AIADMK.

Of the 36 Wards, 18 were bagged by the DMK; nine by AIADMK; one each by PMK, Congress and MDMK; and six by independents.