Party MLAs visiting colleges in Tiruchi to tap young voters

The time-conscious AIADMK candidates of Tiruchi, Karur, and Perambalur constituencies seem to have taken a cue from their leader, Jayalalithaa, who has sounded the poll bugle for the Lok Sabha elections three days ago. With no other major political party finalising the alliance or announcing candidates, the AIADMK nominees have taken the lead in campaigning.

P.Kumar, who has been re-nominated for Tiruchi constituency by the AIADMK, has already kick-started his campaign from Srirangam. Accompanied by Ministers C.Vijayabaskar and N.Subramanian, both from the neighbouring Pudukottai district, and R.Manoharan, Chief Whip in the Assembly, Mr.Kumar has been visiting the local leaders of the party and voters.

Keeping in mind the power of youngsters, particularly first-time voters, the AIADMK MLAs of the district visited various colleges across the district.

The campaign coordinators handed over the party’s poll manifesto to the managements of these institutions with the aim of reaching out to the students. Mr.Kumar and other leaders of the party visited the Srirangam Jeer Mutt on Thursday to seek his blessings and launched their campaign in Tiruverumbur Assembly segment.

Meanwhile, the Tiruchi urban district unit of the AIADMK has planned workers meetings in the next few days starting from tomorrow to consolidate their campaign strategy.

M.Thambidurai, who too has been re-nominated for the Karur constituency, is entering the fray for the fifth time. The three-time winner, who launched his campaign in Manapparai Assembly segment, would have to cover Vedasandur Assembly segment (Dindigul district), Karur, Aravakurichi and Krishnarayapuram-reserved (all in Karur district), Viralimalai (Pudukottai district) and Manapparai in Tiruchi district, in the days ahead.

R.P.Maruthairaj, the new face fielded by AIADMK in Perambalur constituency, too has started his campaign in right earnest.

Accompanied by Minister T.P.Poonachi he launched his campaign in Thuraiyur Assembly seat. Perambalur parliamentary constituency is spread across Karur, Tiruchi, and Perambalur revenue districts.