School education department has conducted the exercise for the third time in the last two months

Eight headmaster vacancies in government high schools in Tiruchi district were filled through online counselling on Friday.

Throughout Tamil Nadu, 432 vacancies to the post were filled with eligible BT teachers on seniority basis in the State-wide exercise. These vacancies keep arising when High School headmasters are promoted to higher secondary schools and as District Educational Officers, and when upper primary schools are upgraded as high schools.

Five of the eight vacancies were filled with BT teachers within the district to schools in Seerathoppu, Siruvalarcholai, Subburayapatti, Inampudur, Unaiyur. These teachers assumed immediate charge.

For the three other schools in Vaiyampatti, Devasthanam, and Sikkathambur, senior BT teachers from other districts have been posted, Chief Educational Officer K. Selvakumar said.

For the third time within two months the school education department has conducted the online exercise. For aspirants to higher posts, the online counselling process initiated by State Education Minister N.R. Sivapathi and School Education Secretary D. Sabitha has reflected in saving time on travel.

Last week, the online process was conducted for posting senior PG teachers as higher secondary school headmasters.

Four vacancies in Tiruchi district were filled in the exercise. Two out of the four posts were filled with candidates from within the district.

The online process to post 1080 newly appointed PG teachers was initiated for the first time in the State in Tiruchi last month by Mr. Sivapathy.

Based on seniority

Of them, 396 PG teachers secured postings in their respective districts based on their seniority in registration with employment exchange. Thirty two of the newly-appointed PG teachers in the State were posted in schools in Tiruchi district whereby vacancies in all the eight newly upgraded higher secondary schools at Inammathur, Kannudayanpatti, Oothukuli, Tirupanjali, Kattuputhur, Paithamparai, T. Murungapatti and Aamur were filled.