Observer holds all-party meet to discuss roll summary revision

About 21,000 applications have been received so far for inclusion of names in electoral rolls in the district, according to Swaran Singh, Electoral Roll Observer for the district.

Chairing an all-party meeting to discuss the on-going summary revision of electoral rolls here on Tuesday, Mr.Swaran Singh said recognised political parties can submit only a maximum of 10 applications through their booth level agents on any given day.

All those who attain 18 years of age as on January 1, 2013, can apply for inclusion of their names in the voters list. Those applying for inclusion of name for the first time should submit and those who had migrated from one Assembly constituency to another should submit Form 6, and those residing abroad should submit Form 6 A for inclusion of their names in the voters list. Voters who have shifted residence within the same Assembly constituency should submit Form 8A. For corrections in names, age, sex or relationship in the voters lists, applicants should submit Form 8. For deletions, applications should be submitted in Form 7.

The applications can be obtained from the polling stations and the filled in forms could be submitted to the booth level agents, taluk or Corporation offices. Applications can also be filed online through the website

Mr.Singh also instructed that all booth level officers should definitely be present at the polling stations during the special camps being held to receive the applications, failing which stern action will be taken.

There were 2,265 polling stations in the district and each booth level officers should display prominently their names and telephone numbers in front of their houses.

Clarifications if any regarding the summary revision can be had from the Electoral Roll Observer over the telephone by dialling 9841017139, the District Collector (9444174000), District Revenue Officer (9445000919) or Corporation Commissioner (9443107788).

Jayashree Muralidharan, Collector, T.Thiyagarajan, District Revenue Officer, V.P.Thandapani, Corporation Commissioner, and representatives of various political parties attended the meeting.