Two hundred boys and girls from 15 schools took part in the Anna birth anniversary district-level cycling competition in Perambalur on Saturday.

The competition, which was held at the collectorare complex, was organised by the Perambalur unit of Sports Development Authority of Tamil Nadu.

It was held in three age categories – under-17, under-15 and under-13.

M.A. Subramanian, District Revenue Officer, inaugurated the competition.


M.Sridhar of Government Higher Secondary School and A. Janaki of Government Higher Secondary School, Arumbavoor, were declared the winners in the under-17 boys and girls sections respectively.

In the under-15 category, Deepanraj of Thanthai Roever Higher Secondary School and Guhaneshwari of St. Dominic Girls Higher Secondary School were the winners.

Prasad of St. Joseph Matriculation Higher Secondary School and M. Soundarya of Government Higher Secondary School, Siruvachur, emerged victorious in the under-13 boys and girls sections respectively.

Collector Darez Ahmed gave away the prizes in the presence of P. Simon Raj, district sports officer.