Dr. Radhakrishnan Best Teacher Award for 2011-12.

Seventeen teachers of government, government aided and private schools in Tiruchi district have been chosen for Dr.Radhakrishnan Best Teacher Award for 2011-12.

The school education department in the district forwarded nominations of teachers who were instrumental in the areas of increasing student enrolment, enforcement of discipline, development of infrastructure, and enhancing competencies of students through conduct of competitions.

Nominations from only those who were seen as role models by students and against whom there was no record of complaint in their entire service period were accepted, Chief Educational Officer K.Selvakumar said.

During the Teachers’ Day celebration in Chennai later this week, these teachers will be honoured by the School Education Minister N.R. Sivapathi.

Each teacher chosen for the award will be given a medal, a citation and a cash incentive of Rs.5,000, official sources said.


The awardees constitute

M. Anburaj, Headmaster, Bishop Heber HSS, Teppakulam;

S. Elizabeth, Drawing Teacher, Holy Cross HSS;

R. Govindaraj, Headmaster, Government Boys HSS, Manachanallur;

V. Srinivasan, HM, Dalmia HSS, Dalimiapuram;

S. Dharmalingam, PG Teacher in Maths, Government Boys HSS, Mettupalayam, Musiri;

K. Kannagi, Headmistress, Government High School, Serugudi Musiri;

C. Selvaraj, Headmaster, Government High School, Nagaianallur, Musiri;

D. Arokiaraj, Principal, AKKV Aarunadu Matric HSS, Annamalai Nagar;

O.T. Rosali Thomas, BHEL Matric HSS, Kaliasapuram;

S. Chandrasekaran, HM, Alangavilas Singarampari Sivabackikam Memorial Middle School, Dharanallur;

M. Mohan, Headmaster, Saroja Kasturi Rangan Middle School, Periya Chetti Theru, Tiruchi;

G. Raghavan, Headmaster, Tennur Middle School;

D. Stephen, Headmaster, Panchayat Union Middle School, Lalgudi;

A. Kadija Beevi, Headmistress, Panchayat Union Middle School, Koothur, Mannachanallur;

P. Mukilan, Headmaster, Panchayat Union Middle School, Neikulam, Manachanallur;

M. Chandrasekarn, Headmaster, Panchayat Union Middle School, Kaduvetti, Thottiyam;

and D. Manoharan, Headmaster, Panchayat Union Elementary School, Kilinjanatham, Thottiyam.

Of the 17 awardees, seven are from secondary and higher secondary schools, two from private schools, and the rest from primary and upper primary schools.

The number of best teacher awardees was the same last year also, official sources added.