3 lakh people to take part in rally marking the end of CPI(M) State conference

An estimated three lakh people are expected to participate in a rally and public meeting at Chandrasekharan Nair Stadium here on Friday that will bring the curtain down on the 20th State conference of the CPI(M).

Over 25,000 Red volunteers and a lakh-and-a-half women in traditional Kerala attire will participate in the rally. The march will be from Manjalikulam and Manaveeyam Veedhi near Vellayambalam Junction. Actor Kalabhavan Mani will lead a cultural show, ‘Manikilukkom 2012,' at Chandrasekharan Nair Stadium.

The parade will begin at 3 p.m. and the public meeting at 4 p.m. CPI(M) General Secretary Prakash Karat will inaugurate the public meeting.


A release from the CPI(M) said a 200-member volunteer team had been set up to assist the police in regulating traffic. Traffic regulations will be enforced in the city from 1 p.m. on account of the rally and public meeting, City Police Commissioner said. The march will be taken out from five places — Chakka, Music College Junction, Vellayambalam, Kuravankonam Junction, and Overbridge — to the stadium.

The KSRTC buses coming through M.C. Road to the city should move along Mannanthala, Mukkola, Kudapanakunnu, Peroorkada, Pipinmoodu, Sasthamanglam, Edapazhanji, Vazhuthacaud, Thycaud, and Flyover. Those coming via the NH 47 should move along Kazhakuttam, Chakka, and Eenchakkal to reach East Fort. Buses coming from Nedumanagad should proceed via Perrorkada, Pipinmoodu, Sasthamangalam, Kochar Road, Edapazhanji, Vazhuthacaud, and Thampanoor and those coming from Neyyattinkara should proceed via Attakulangara, East Fort, and Overbridge.

The vehicles from Thampanoor proceeding to M.C. Road will have to move along Aristo Junction, Model School Junction, Thycaud, Vazhuthacaud, Vellayambalam, Peroorkada, Kudapanakunnu, Mukkola, and Mannanthala. Those vehicles proceeding from Thampanoor to NH 47 will be diverted via East Fort, Eenchakkal, Vallakadavu, Valiyathura, Shanghumughom, All Saints College, Madhavapuram, World Market, Technopark, and Kazhakuttam.

The buses from Thampanoor to Thiruvallom and Kovalam side will have to move along the Flyover, Killipalam, Attakulangara, Manacaud, and Ambalathara and those to the Pappanamcode side via Flyover, Killipalam, and Karamana, the release said.

The vehicles, including KSRTC buses, proceeding from East Fort to Peroorkada will be diverted via Attakulangara, Killipalam, Mettukada, Vazhuthacaud, Edapazhanji, Sasthamangalam, Pippinmoodu, and Peroorkada. Buses and other vehicles from the East Fort side to Pettah will have to move along Vettimuricha Kotta, Vazhapally, Mithranandapuram, S.P. Fort, Kaithamukku, and Vanchiyoor.

Parking space

Those bringing in people for the rally in vehicles will have to park the vehicles through the NH 47 and through M.C. Road on the Chakka-All Saints College road. The Eenchakkal-Thiruvallom bypass has been designated as parking area for those bringing in people from the Kovalam side and Kanaka Nagar-Sooryakanthi Road, Tagore Theatre premises, and university premises are set aside for for vehicles carrying party activists from Nedumangad side. The vehicles arriving from Neyattinkara side will have to be parked on Killipalam Bund Road and on Attakulangara Bypass.