Mar Baselios College of Engineering and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram, with 136 points, won the overall crown at the Kerala University Youth Festival with a clear lead of 11 points over its nearest rival, Government College for Women, Thiruvananthapuram.

Mar Ivanios College, Thiruvananthapuram, the winner in the previous eight editions of the festival, slipped to third place with 110 points, after maintaining a close race for the trophy all through the week.

K.S. Arjun of Mar Baselios College was declared the ‘Kalaprathibha,’ having won first place in Bharatanatyam, Kuchipudi, Kathakali, Kerala Nadanam, and folk dance and second place in Ottanthullal. M.G. Arya of VTM NSS College who won the first place in Kathaprasangam, ghazal, light music, second place in Malayalam recitation, and the third place in Mappilappattu was declared the ‘Kalathilakam.’

“I started learning Bharatanatyam at the age of five. I was the topper at the School Youth Festival in 2009 and 2010. Winning the Kalaprathibha here is a great inspiration for me to become a professional dancer, once I finish my engineering studies” Arjun told The Hindu.

“Though I began as a dancer and won various prizes at the school level, I decided to concentrate on my singing once I reached college. Being a part of various reality shows did not give me much time for dance either. Mother was my first guru in classical music. I have not been trained in ghazal, and learnt it by listening to records. I plan to secure a job after my studies, and pursue singing too,” Arya said.


Playback singer Sujatha handed over the trophies to the winners at the valedictory function held on Sunday evening at the Senate Hall.

Of the total 130 colleges which took part in at least one of the 81 events, only 65 colleges managed to score at least one point.

The top 10 places in the points tally were occupied by the city colleges, except for TKM College of Engineering, Kollam, in the 9th position.

The winners of some of the major events are as follows (according to rank):

Oppana: TKM College of Engineering, Kollam, and Government College for Women, Thiruvananthapuram; University College, Thiruvananthapuram; Mar Ivanios College, Thiruvananthapuram

Poetry writing (English): J.K. Prasieja, Sree Narayana College for Women, Kollam; Saguna Rebecca Joseph, Mar Theophilus Training College, Nalanchira; Keerthi Babu, Mar Theophilus Training College, Nalanchira

Ottanthullal (Male): Vishnu Vijay, Mar Baselios College of Engineering and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram; K.S. Arjun, Mar Baselios College of Engineering and Technology; Munnu Chandran, SN College, Punalur

Poetry writing (Malayalam): Dhanya Das, MSM College, Kayamkulam; Gauri Shankar, University College, Thiruvananthapuram, and Anupama T. Ashok, Government College for Women, Thiruvananthapuram; P.V. Devi, Kerala University Campus, Karyavattom

Group dance: Government College for Women, Thiruvananthapuram; Mar Ivanios College, Thiruvananthapuram; Mar Baselios College of Engineering and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram