Television channels operating from Kerala have floated the Kerala Television Federation for taking up the problems facing the sector. The federation was formed at a meeting of representatives of various channels held here on Tuesday.

The meeting elected K. Madhavan (Asianet) president, Ajay Vidyasagar (Surya) vice-president, and John Brittas (Kairali) general secretary. K.P. Mohanan (Jai Hind) and R. Sreekantan Nair (Asianet) are the secretaries. M.V. Nikesh Kumar (Indiavision) and S. Anil Kumar (Amritha) are the joint secretaries. Baby Mathew (Jeevan) is the treasurer.

A governing council comprising the heads of various channels will take policy decisions. Each channel will have two representatives in the federation. Common issues regarding channels will have to be taken up with the federation hereafter so that they can evolve a unified opinion.

The meeting decided to ensure social commitment in news and other programmes aired by the channels. The curbs proposed by certain organisations in the film industry on actors appearing in television channels also came up for discussion at the meeting.

Television has been lending maximum support to the film industry. Telecast rights of films are being secured by paying 40 to 50 per cent of the production cost against the 10 to 15 per cent in Tamil.