Kattakkada will be elevated to the status of a taluk—the sixth in the capital district—at a ceremony to be held at the Kattakkada junction on Tuesday evening.

Once the Chief Minister Oommen Chandy makes the declaration about the new taluk, the Revenue Minister Adoor Prakash would issue the first certificate.

A press note issued here said the new taluk would comprise the panchayats of Kattakkada, Vilappil, Vilavoorkkal, Malayinkeezhu, Maranalloor, Poovachal, Vellanad, Kuttichal, Kallikkad, Amboori, Ottasekharamangalam and Aryankode and the villages of Vilavoorkkal, Malayinkeezhu, Vilappil, Maranalloor, Kallikkad, Kulathummal, Vazhichal, Amboori, Keezhazhoor, Ottasekharamangalam, Vellanad, Veeranakkavu, Perumkulam and Mannoorkkonam.

K. P. Kaladharakumar will be the first Tahsildar of Kattakkada.


A holiday has been declared for all government and educational institutions in the taluk area on Tuesday, the pressnote added.