The Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST), a deemed university under the Department of Space of the Union government, celebrated its fourth foundation day on Wednesday.

For the first time, the IIST celebrated the day on its permanent campus at Valiyamala. Earlier, the institute was functioning from a temporary campus at Veli.

Speaker G. Karthikeyan inaugurated the programme. Palode Ravi, MLA, delivered the presidential address. Lekha Suresh, municipal chairperson, Nedumangad, released the student magazine Drishtikon.

K.S. Dasgupta, Director, IIST, welcome the dignitaries. N. Vasudevan, Registrar, presented a report.

Felicitations were offered by P.S. Veeraraghavan, Director, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre; S. Ramakrishnan, Director, Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre; G. Ravindranath, Director, ISRO Inertial Systems Unit; and Suresh Das, Director, National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology.

Trophies for winners of different competitions and certificates for the best academic and extracurricular performances were presented to the students. Nihau Chowhan received the trophy for the best all-rounder student. R. Krishnan, Dean (Academics), proposed a vote of thanks. Eminent scientists, professors, faculty members, and students participated in the programme. The function was followed by a cultural programme by students, faculty members, and staff.

Keywords: IIST