C.R. Number 89 directed by debutant Sudevan and produced by V. Achuthanandan has bagged the State award for the best feature film in 2013. Fahad Fazil and Lal share the award for the best male actor and Ann Augustine gets the best female actor award.

A seven-member jury chaired by veteran film maker P. Bharatiraja selected Syamaprasad as the best director for his film Artist.

Suraj Venjaramoodu, who won the national award for the best actor, had to be content with the State award for the best comedian.

While Fahad Fazil won the best actor award for his roles in Artist and North 24 Kaatham, Lal bagged the award for his performance in Ayaal and Zachariayude Garbhinikal. Anne Augustine’s role in Artist won her the best actor award. North 24 Kaatham directed by Anil Radhakrishnan Menon and produced by Mukesh R. Mehta won the award for the second best feature film.

Suraj Venjaramoodu got the award for his role in Daivathinte Swantham Cleetus and Pullipulikalum Aattinkuttiyum. Announcing the awards here on Saturday, Minister for Cinema Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan said 25 of the 36 awards had gone to new generation films.

Ashok Kumar (C.R. Number 89 ) won the award for the second best male actor and Lena (Left Right Left and Kanyaka Talkies) was adjudged the second best female actor. Karthik (Orissa) and Vaikom Vijayalakshmi (Nadan) were selected the best male and female singers while Ouseppachan was adjudged the best music director (Nadan). Prabha Varma and Madhu Vasudev shared the award for the best lyricist for songs in Nadan. Bijibal won recognition for the best background score for the movie Balyakalasakhi.

Drisyam directed by Jithu Joseph won the award for the most popular film. K.R. Manoj (Kanyaka Talkies) was adjudged the best debutant director. Sanoop Santhosh (Philips and the Monkey Pen), Baby Anika (Anchu Sundarikal) were the best child artistes.

Aneesh Anwar who directed Zachariyayude Garbhinikal bagged the special jury award, while Sanoosha and Kalabhavan Shajone won the special jury mention for their roles in Zachariyayude Garbhinikal and Drisyam respectively. Suresh Unnithan won the special jury mention for directing Ayaal. The Minister said the government had accepted the jury’s recommendation to app- oint a screening committee to shortlist the entries for film awards. He said the government had approved the jury’s recommendation to institute an award for the best environment film from next year.

Mr. Bharathiraja said there was nothing unnatural about Suraj Venjaramoodu being selected the best comedian after bagging the national award for best actor.