Forty-four teachers - from primary, secondary, higher secondary and vocational higher secondary schools - will be honoured for their teaching talent and societal commitment on the occasion of Teachers’ Day here on September 5.

Fourteen teachers from primary classes, 14 from secondary classes, nine from the higher secondary, and seven from vocational higher secondary classes have been chosen for the award of 2012-13, which comprises a cash prize of Rs. 5,000, citation and statuette.

The State-level award committee headed by Education Minister P.K. Abdu Rabb received a shortlist of 66 teachers in the secondary level and 42 from the primary level.

A press note issued here said the award-winning teachers were finalised based on a comprehensive selection matrix which included the teacher’s academic ability, his or her standing in society, passion for teaching, participation in school and social activities, relationship with students, contributions to the education sector and overall commitment.

PTA award

The awards for the best Parent Teacher Association (PTA) for 2012-13 go to the PTA at Government LPS Athirkuzhi, Kasaragod (primary) and St. Thomas HS, Kallara, Kottayam (secondary). These PTAs will also get the C.H. Mohammed Koya ever-rolling trophy.

A press note here said the prize money for this award had been increased to Rs.5 lakh for the first place. The second slot would fetch a purse of Rs. 4 lakh.