Students from Udupi, and Dakshina Kannada districts put up a spectacular show at the zonal-level yoga competition which concluded at the S.D.M. Mangala Jyoti School at Vamanjoor here on Thursday.

Eight of the 12 students selected to represent the zone at the State-level competition to be held in Shimoga, are from the two districts. The overall championship was won by students from Dakshina Kannada.

Nishmitha K. from the host school emerged as “Balakara Yoga Kumari” (under-14 category). Dikshith S., also from the host school, bagged the title “Balakara Yoga Kumara” title (also under-14 category) and stood first in the category for his overall performance.

Shakeela Abhyankar of Dakshina Kannada stood first in the under-14 category for overall performance.

Nishmitha said: “I like yoga as it helps me relax and concentrate more on my studies.” Dikshith started practising yoga at the age of 10. He said, “I will never give up practising yoga. It has helped me stay healthy and fit.”

Shekhar Karthala, physical director and yoga instructor of Mangaljyothi School, said: “Our students are very dedicated towards yoga. Everyday we have practice sessions from 7.30 a.m. to 9 a.m. and 4.30 p.m. to 6 p.m.”

When asked if the students were encouraged at their homes to take up yoga, Mr. Karthala said: “Parents are supportive. They take special interest and encourage their students to take up yoga seriously. The school management also renders full cooperation.”

In the 14-17 years category Jagadish V. from Chikmagalur and Pushpavati V.T from Dakshina Kannada stood first in boys and girls sections.

Swathi N. from Udupi received the “Balakara Yoga Kumari” award in the under-17 category. Rakshith from St. Reymonds School in Vamanjoor walked away with the Balakara Yoga Kumara title in this category.

Others selected for State-level competitions are: Vishnuprasad Shetty from Chikmagalur, Praveen Kumar J. from Mysore, Bhavya from Udupi, Karthik S. from Udupi, and Nandana from Dakshina Kannada have been selected for the State-level.

Rajashri S. Hegde, president of Education and Health Standing Committee of the Dakshina Kannada Zilla Panchayat, distributed prizes to winners.

More In: Mangaluru