Two records tumble at Mangalore district meet

RAISING THE BAR: Schoolboys participating in the Under-14 hurdles at the District-level Athletics Meet at Mangala Stadium in Mangalore on Tuesday. Photo: H.S. Manjunath   | Photo Credit: PHOTO: H.S.MANJUNATH


Two district athletic meet records were broken in the two-day District Level Athletic Championship for school children that concluded here on Tuesday.

Adrushappa S. Pagaad, a student of Alva’s Kannada Medium School in Moodbidri, jumped to a distance of 6.53 meters to break the record of 6.15 metres set by Naveen of Canara High School, Urva, in 1998 in the under-17 boys category.

Anvitha Shetty of St. Gerosa High School, Mangalore ran 100 meters in 16.3 seconds to beat the record of 17.75 seconds set by Suprashasti of Rotary High School in Moodbidri.

Mr. Pagaad emerged as the fastest athlete in the under-17 boys category, while Simi N.S. from Alva’s Kannada Medium School, Moodbidri, was the fastest athlete in the girls category. Manas M. Rai from Rotary English Medium School and Shreyas Suvarna from St Ann’s High School, Mangalore, topped in the 100 meters run the under-14 category for boys and girls respectively, while Ravi Suresh Gollara from Holy Angels Higher Primary School and Shreya from Mount Carmel English Medium School, Moodbidri, won gold medals in the 100 meters run in the primary school category.

Prakash P from Alva’s English Medium School and Deeksha B from Navodaya High School, Puttur were individual champions in the under-17 category, while Ovin L D’Souza from St. Aloysius High School, Kodialbail and Shreya Suvarna from St. Ann’s High School were champions in the under-14 category. Selbistar from Sri Rama Higher Primary School, Kalladka, and Shreya from Carmel English Medium High School were declared individual champions in primary school category.

Alva’s Kannada Medium High School won the team championship in the under-17 boys and girls categories.

St. Aloyisus English Medium School and Vivekananda English Medium School, Puttur won the team championship in the boys and girls in the under-14 categories. Sri Rama Higher Primary School, Kalladka, and Carmel Higher Primary School, Pandeshwar, won the team championship in the primary school boys and girls categories.

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Nov 25, 2017 2:01:12 AM |