Two Mangalore high school students have been selected to take part in the CBSE National Roller Skating Championships to be held in Amritsar, Punjab from November 19 to 21 following their good performance at zonal level.

They are: Seeliya Simmith, a class 10 student of Lourdes Central School and Aishwarya Mathews, a class 9 student of Presidency School. Both are members of Mangalore Roller Skating Club run by their coach Mahesh Kumar. Seeliya won two gold medals and bagged the individual championship at the CBSE south zone roller skating championship held at JSS Public School, Mysore, recently. The gold medals came in the 5000 M road race and 300 M rink race 3.

Aishwarya bagged gold in the 3000m road race and silver in the 300m rink race 1. Another member of the club, Onkar Yogaraj, a class 9 student of Mount Carmel School bagged bronze in the 500m rink race 4, the coach said. Skaters from Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry, Karnataka, and Andhra Pradesh took part in the zonal meet in the last week of September.

He said that Ashel D’Silva, a class 3 student of Cambridge School, had bagged bronze medal in the girls section of the open speed skating championships organised in Bangalore Karnataka Roller Skating Association in mid-September.

More In: Mangaluru