Deputy Mayor of Mangalore Rajani K. Dugganna has been elected Mayor while Rajendra Kumar has been elected unopposed as Deputy Mayor.

Their term will be for one year from Friday. Ms. Dugganna is the fifth woman Mayor and 13th Mayor of Mangalore.

Ms. Dugganna from the Bharatiya Janata Party defeated Bharathi Dinesh of the Congress by a margin of 15 votes. While the winner polled 35 votes, the loser got 20 votes. Mr. Kumar from the BJP was elected unopposed as the polling officers rejected the nomination paper of Bashir Ahmed of the Congress for the post for not producing his caste certificate, as required.

The Government had reserved the post of Mayor to General Category (Woman) and that of the Deputy Mayor to Backward Class A.

Ms. Dugganna was elected to the council from Hosabettu ward, while Mr. Kumar represents Dongarakeri ward.

Two Independent councillors, and a councillor each of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) and the Janata Dal (Secular) abstained from voting. Another Independent councillor, Jyothi Jayaprakash from Thiruvail ward, was absent.

Ms. Dugganna was the chairperson of the Standing Committee for Accounts of the corporation in 2008-09. She had been elected Deputy Mayor in 2009-10. Earlier, she had served as the leader of the Opposition in the council, when the Congress was in power in the council.

Ms. Dugganna has been elected to the council for the third consecutive term. She was also the Member of the then Surathkal town municipal council, before it was merged with the Mangalore City Corporation.

Ms. Dugganna has served in various capacities in the BJP for three decades.

Mr. Kumar has been elected to the council for the first time. Addressing councillors after the election, Ms. Dugganna said she would live up to the expectations of the people and concentrate on development and city’s infrastructure.

Members of the four standing committees were elected unanimously on Friday.

More In: Mangaluru