Nomination papers of 86 candidates for the May 5 elections to the Assembly from the eight constituencies in Dakshina Kannada have been found valid during the scrutiny on Thursday.

It included the nominations of all eight candidates each of the Bharatiya Janata Party, the Congress, the Janata Dal (Secular) and the Karnataka Janata Paksha (KJP). The nominations of all seven candidates of the Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI) have been found valid. The SDPI has not fielded its candidate in Belthangady.

The nomination papers of all three candidates of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) contesting in Mangalore, Mangalore City South and Belthangady have been found valid.

More In: Mangaluru