Minister for Ports, Inland Water Transport, Environment and Ecology J. Krishna Palemar said on Monday that a proposal to constitute Karnataka Maritime Board would be placed before the next State Legislature session for approval. Later, it would be sent to the Union Government for clearance.

In an informal chat with presspersons after hoisting the tricolour at the Nehru Maidan here, the Minister said that the State Cabinet had cleared the proposal sometime ago.

The Minister said that the board would focus on developing maritime infrastructure in the State, including developing minor ports. An Additional Chief Secretary of the State would be the chairperson of the board. In addition, it would have eight members — four principal secretaries and four senior engineers.

Mr. Palemar said that in the States, which had set up maritime board, either the Chief Minister or Minister for Ports headed it.

But he (Mr. Palemar) insisted that a senior official should head the board in the State as his (official's) experience in administration and exposure would help in its better functioning.

Earlier, addressing the gathering at the maidan, the Minister said that the State Finance Commission had sanctioned Rs. 38.02 crore for urban development work in the jurisdiction of the Mangalore City Corporation and other urban local bodies in Dakshina Kannada.

An action plan to this effect would be submitted to the Government shortly, the Minister said.

The Minister said that Rs. 3.62 crore sanctioned to the city corporation under the 13{+t}{+h} Finance Scheme would be utilised for improving streetlight facility, drinking water supply and underground drainage network.

He said more services had been brought under the three Mangalore One centres in the city now.

They covered water bill payment, reserving train and KSRTC bus tickets, sale of application forms for jobs in State Government, Union Government, public sector undertakings and banks, ING Vysya life insurance premium payment and BSNL land line bill payment.

Eighteen contingents took part in the Independence Day parade. Road Safety Patrol, a troupe of girls from St. Theresa School, Bendoorwell, bagged the first prize, and cadets of NCC junior Air wing walked away with the second prize.

Three students from Mangalore, who had won medals in Special Olympics 2011 at Athens in June, were felicitated.

They are Royston Pinto of St. Agnes Special School, who won two gold medals in roller skating and skating relay; Dhanya S. Rao of Chetana Special School who won two gold medals in roller skating; and Anil Mendonca of St. Agnes Special School who bagged a bronze medal in volleyball.

Mayor Praveen was present.

More In: Mangaluru