The move to form Greater Mangalore has got a shot in the arm with most of the 17 local bodies on the outskirts of Mangalore City Corporation consenting to it at a meeting here.

The Deputy Commissioner of Dakshina Kannada N. Prakash, also the administrator of the corporation, convened the meeting on Saturday to determine if they were willing to be part of the Greater Mangalore, a proposal mooted by Minister for Urban Development Vinay Kumar Sorake.

Earlier the minister had announced that constituting Greater Mangalore would make it eligible to get developmental funds from the Union government.

Tax scare

Sources in the corporation said that except the representatives of Neerumarga Gram Panchayat, all other local bodies have consented to unite into Greater Mangalore. Neerumarga gram panchayat representatives were apprehensive that merger would mean payment of more taxes for people in its jurisdiction.

Other local bodies that approved the proposal were Mulky town panchayat, Ullal town municipality, and gram panchayats of Chelyar, Haleyangady, Malavoor, Padu Panambur, Bala, Bajpe, Moodushedde, Konaje, Munnur, Belma, Adyar, Someshwar, Kotekar and Jokatte, the sources said.

Mulky town panchayat, Ullal town municipality and gram panchayats of Chelyar, Haleyangady and Malavoor have passed resolutions favouring the proposal. The administrator asked the other local bodies to send their resolutions at the earliest.

Sources said that Adyar Gram Panchayat representatives sought inclusion of the adjacent Arkula Gram Panchayat in Greater Mangalore while Mulky representatives wanted inclusion of Kilpady Gram Panchayat.

Greater Mangalore will be spread over 252 sq. km area against the present 132 sq. km, with population going up to 6.82 lakh from the present 4.99 lakh.

More In: Mangaluru