The Election Commission will launch a fortnight-long campaign in Dakshina Kannada on Tuesday for achieving cent per cent in taking photographs of the listed voters, according to Additional Deputy Commissioner S.A. Prabhakar Sharma.

Addressing presspersons here on Monday, Mr. Sharma said that photographs of some voters had not been recorded in voters' list already published, for various reasons. The process would be completed during this campaign, he said. The commission had prepared a booklet of such voters whose photographs had not been included in the photo electoral rolls. Based on it, booth-level officers appointed by the commission would visit the houses of such voters, whose photographs were missing in the list, between June 1 and 10. They would issue such voters photo forms (form number 8) and ask them to fill it up and paste a passport size photograph on it. These forms would be collected from them before June 15.

He said that if such voters were available, along with their photographs during the first visit, the forms would be collected immediately. Such voters would be issued with voters' card (Electors' Photo Identity Card) after June 30.

He said that photographs of 95,098 voters registered in the list were yet to be taken in the district.

Draft voters' list

Mr. Sharma said that the commission would display a draft voters' list in the district on June 21. Those who attained 18 years as on January 1, 2010 and who wanted to include their names in the electoral list afresh, could do so between June 21 and July 6. Those who want to delete their names or correct the details, could file applications to that effect during this period. Such applications would be verified and disposed of before July 16. The final electoral rolls would be published on July 30, he said.


Mr. Sharma said that Sullia Assembly constituency had recorded 99.17 per cent success in issuing EPICs. It was followed by Belthangady with 94.41 per cent, Moodbidri with 93.87 per cent, Mangalore North with 93.1 per cent, Bantwal with 92.99 per cent, Puttur with 91.95 per cent, Mangalore with 91.89 per cent and Mangalore South with 87.53 per cent.

More In: Mangaluru