The Bharatiya Janata Party has chosen Kiran Kumar and Bharati Chandrashekhar for the posts of president and vice-president of the Udupi City Municipal Council (CMC), respectively. Since the BJP has an overwhelming majority in the council, their election, scheduled for Tuesday, is likely to be a smooth affair.

A press release issued by the district BJP stated that the choice of candidates for the top posts of the CMC was made at a meeting of the party's councillors and senior leaders on Monday. MLA K. Raghupati Bhat and president of the district unit of BJP K. Udaykumar Shettywere among those present.

More In: Mangalore