As many as 87 schools, including 11 run by the government, saw all their students clear the class 10 examinations.

The government schools included five Morarji Desai Residential Schools in Moodibidri, Belthangady, Mangalore North, Kuttinapadavu, Mangalore South and Sullia. The other government schools to achieve this feat are Government High School, Guruvayankere; Navodaya Model High School, Belthangady; Government High School, Buleri; Government High School, Mangalore North; and Government High School, Kalladi.

As per official figures from the office of the Deputy Director of Public Instruction, 194 schools have success rate between 81 and 99 per cent; 138 schools, between 61 and 80 per cent; and 39 schools with success rate between 41 and 60 per cent.

Government Urdu Secondary School in Melangady, Ullal, saw the lowest number of students clearing the exam — seven out of 39 students. The four other schools with low pass percentage are Government High School, Nandavar (19 out of 77 students); Government Composite High School, Bantwal (29 out of 75 students); Government High School Bantwal (29 out of 72 students); and Badriya Junior College (28 out of 68).

Of the 25,892 regular and private students who cleared SSLC examination, 5,529 students are from Mangalore North, followed by 5,244 from Mangalore South block; 4,536 students are from Bantwal block; 4,031 from Puttur; 3,453 from Belthangady block; 1,629 from Sullia; and 1,470 students from Moodbidri block. As many as 92 per cent of students have passed in the first language, followed by 91.89 per cent in the third language and 75.72 per cent students in the second language. As many as 84.21 per cent (26,525 students) passed in social science; 83.49 per cent (26,300 students) in science and 76.02 per cent (23,946) have passed in mathematics paper.


As many as 37 students have scored more than 611 marks out of 625. Some among them are Aishwarya Shetty (618 marks), St. Ann’s High School; Sindhu M. (617), St. Mary’s Girls High School; Kenrick Xavier Pinto (616), Rotary English Medium School; Thrupthi D. (615), St. Aloysius English Medium High School; Athreya Narayana Bhat J. (615), Sri Satyasai Lokaseva High School, Manisha M. (615), Dharmastala Majunatheshwara English Medium School; and Varsha P. (614), St. Victors Girls’ High School.