Men and women long distance runners representing Niligiris district emerged winners in the state-level mini marathon organised by the district police administration here on Friday morning.

P. Nagendra Rao of Madras regimental camp, Wellington won the 21-km-long marathon race meant for men and P. Sudha, national sports champion and native of Nilgiris topped the eight-km-long marathon race meant for women.

Second price and third prizes were bagged by G. Lakshmanan Madras Regimental Camp and P. Loganathan of Kavinadu Youth Sports Club, Pudhukottai.

P. Rani of Pudukottai and B. Shanthi of Chennai were settled with second and third prizes in the women race. More than 18,000 athletes participated in the road race flagged off by former DGP Walter Devaram. South zone IG R. Krishnamurthy, Coimbatore Police Commissioner C. Sailendra Babu, DIG (Dindigul Range) Sailesh Kumar Yadav, Superintendents of Police V. Balakrishnan and R. Sudhakar, Principal Session Judge Sivanandha Jothi and former athlete Shiny Wilson took part.

More In: Madurai