Cities » Madurai

Updated: July 23, 2010 19:17 IST

Local body elections pass off peacefully but for stray incidents

Madurai Bureau
print   ·   T  T  
A woman casting her vote at Mayakulam near Kilakarai on Thursday. Photo: L. Balachandar
Photo: L. Balachandar
A woman casting her vote at Mayakulam near Kilakarai on Thursday. Photo: L. Balachandar

Seventeen candidates were elected unopposed in the mid term poll conducted for filling up of vacant positions in the local bodies in the district. Election was held only for five vacant posts – Ayakudi 15th ward member, president posts in Sivagnanapuram, Vellampatti and P. Kosavapatii panchayats and Chettiyapatti ward 1 in Athoor union – here on Thursday.

Fifty five to 60 per cent of votes were polled in both Dindigul and Theni districts.

T.S.K. Rajendran was elected unopposed as member for 13th ward (General) and P. Lakshmi as third ward member (general) for Thadikombu town panchayat. Similarly, M. Selvaraj (Athoor panchayat union ward 1) and R. Ramkumar (Thoppampatti panchayat union ward 12) were also elected unopposed.

At panchayat ward levels, A. Dharma Jayaseeli was elected unopposed as member for second ward of N. Panjampatti panchayat in Athoor block, T.P.S. Paramanandham for second ward (general) at Mannavanur, V. Muthupandi for second ward (SC-General) at Poomparai, R. Rani second ward (SC-Women) at Poomparai in Kodaikanal union, L. Raman for third ward (general) in Uralaipatti union in Natham block, S. Murugesan for third ward (SC-G) in Musuvanuthu in Nilakottai union, Pandian, first (general) ward of Lakkayankoattai, N. Chithira for 1st ward (SC-G) at Pliamarathupatti, S. Sadayappan for 4th ward in Reddiyapatti (General) in Oddanchatram union, K. Devi for 1st ward (SC-G) of Amarapoondi in Palani and S. Angaiyarkanni for second ward (SC-G) of Marichilambu and A. Thirumalai Gounder for 2nd ward (general) of Thoppampatti in Thoppampatti union and P. Subbaiah for third ward at Chithuvarpatti in Vadamadurai union. No one filed nomination for the member of second ward in Neelamalaikottai panchayat in Reddiyarchatram.

Tension prevailed at Shivagnanapuram polling station in Nilakottai taluk in the morning, as two groups clashed over polling.


Eleven candidates were elected unopposed in the local body elections. Election was held for 14 seats (12 ward members and two panchayat presidents). Polling was peaceful in Theni district. Security was tightened in all polling stations to ensure free and fair election.

Collector P. Muthuveeran announced that the last date for submission of forms for inclusion or deletion of names and correction if any in the name and address, in the electoral roll was extended.

New voters aged 18 years may submit their applications till July 26. This decision was taken on the request made by political parties, he added. Necessary forms were available in the respective polling stations.

The filled-in applications could be submitted to nearest booths. He appealed to voters to include their names in the voter list within the stipulated period. Greater participation was needed for a stronger democracy.


The by-election to the local bodies held in different parts of the district went off peacefully. President election for Mayakulam village of Thiruppulani panchayat union was among the elections held on Thursday. Besides this, elections were conducted for electing ward members for 22 panchayats and 4 town panchayat members.

Except for a small skirmish at Kombuthi, there was no problem in other areas. People showed interest to cast votes. Some of the panchayat ward members were elected unopposed. The sources said the counting of votes would be undertaken on Saturday.

More In: Madurai

Tamil Nadu





Madurai Connect Newsfeed



Recent Article in Madurai

Parents end life after killing son near Madurai

Unable to maintain a mentally ill son, an aged parents ended their life after administering poison to the 32-year-old youth, at Thenur n... »