Women outnumber men voters in Madurai district

Madurai Collector Anshul Mishra released the final electoral rolls here on Thursday.

He said that there was an increase of 1.89 per cent of voters in the district comprising 10 Assembly constituencies. A total of 22,39,685 voters including 11,17,230 men, 11,22,399 women and 56 others figured in the final voters list.

The 10 Assembly segments are Melur, Madurai East, Sholavandan, Madurai North, Madurai South, Madurai Central, Madurai West, Tirupparankundram, Tirumangalam and Usilampatti. From 1.10.2012 to 23.12.2012, the officials received 92,647 forms seeking addition, deletion and changes in the voters list.

After conducting door-to-door enumeration, the officials accepted 89,930 forms. Of this, 48,282 were deleted (reasons include death, shifting of residence) taking the net addition to 41,648.

Prior to the final voters list, the draft rolls released last year had a total of 21,98,037 voters including 10,98,320 men, 10,99,703 women and 14others. With the addition of 41,648 voters now, the total as on January, 10,2013 stands at 22,39,685 voters, Mr. Anshul Mishra said. For the purpose of enrolling in the voters list, the Election Commission of India had fixed January 1, 2013 as the qualifying date for persons who had attained 18 years of age. To a query, the Collector said the officials had issued voter identity cards to all the eligible voters as on date, thus achieving 100 per cent issuance in the district. On the number of polling stations, he said there were 2,483stations, an increase of 280.

Awareness programmes will be organised in Madurai district to drive home the message of the right to vote. He urged voters to celebrate it in a big way. The Deputy Commissioner of Madurai Corporation V. Sambhavi and RDO Arumugam received copies of the voters list from the Collector for regions covering Madurai City and suburban pockets.

Assistant Commissioner (Madurai Corporation) A. Devadoss, PRO Selvaraj participated. The voters list copies will be available in the respective zonal and revenue offices for public viewing.