All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam won five out of the nine posts of Chairpersons of town panchayats while the rival Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) has bagged two and one each has gone to Communist Party of India and an independent.


The following are the names of town panchayats, candidate who won as Chairperson, party, and the number of councillors belonging to different parties.

Chettiayarpatti - M. Umamaheswari (DMK), AIADMK two; DMK six; Independent four and MDMK two.

Mallankinaru - S. Nagaiah (DMK), AIADMK nine; DMK three; DMDK one and Independent two.

Mamsapuram - R. Raja (Ind), AIADMK 13; DMK one; DMDK one; Independent three.

Seithur - K. Murugeswari (CPI), AIADMK five; DMK one, Congress two, DMDK two, Communist Party of India two, Independent five and MDMK one.

Kariyapatti - P. Gandhimathi (AIADMK), AIADMK eight; DMK five; Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi one, Independent one.

S. Kodikulam - S. Subbulakshmi (AIADMK), AIADMK six, DMK 3, Independent three, Puthiya Tamilagam two and others one.

Sundarapandiyam - K. Muthusamy (AIADMK), AIADMK 12, DMK two and PT one.

Watrap - K. Petchiammal (AIADMK), AIADMK four, DMK four, Congress one, DMDK one, CPI (M) one, CPI two, BJP one, Independent two and PT two.

W. Pudupatti- N. Pounthai (AIADMK), AIADMK six, DMK three, DMDK one and Independent five.

More In: Madurai