Five presidents of village panchayats in the district were dismissed on the charges of malpractices in panchayat administration, financial irregularities, making loss to the panchayat and violation of government rules, according to Collector K. Nagarjaan. In a release here on Thursday, he said that the Dindigul union Periakottai Panchayat President K. Gurusamy, Balakrishnapuram Panchayat President G. Vasantha, Nilakottai union Pachamalaiyankottai Panchayat President M. Manjula, Sanarpatti union Madur Panchayat President S. John Peter and Kodaikkanal union Vilpatti panchayat S. Selvaraj were dismissed from service.

Acting on complaints received from various persons about malpractices in panchayat administration, violations of government guidelines and financial loss and also on the basis of investigation report submitted by officials, action had been initiated against them, he added.

More In: Madurai