Of 60 papers, 26 rejected after scrutiny

Collector and Returning Officer for the Madurai Parliamentary constituency L. Subramanian declared that there would be 34 candidates including those from the AIADMK, the DMK, the CPI(M), the Congress, the DMDK, the AAP and the BSP.

While 60 nominations were filed, 26 nominations including those of dummy candidates and additional nominations filed by a few candidates were rejected after scrutiny.

Candidates who are contesting from recognised parties are R. Gopalakrishnan (AIADMK), D. Sivamuthukumar (DMDK), V. Velusamy (DMK), B. Vikraman (CPI-M), T.N. Bharath Nachiappan (Congress) and A. Thavamani (BSP).

Four candidates will contest on behalf of registered political outfits in the State. They are: M. Kamacis (AAP), M. Mohammad Ali (Samatha Party), P. Ramamoorthy (All India Forward Bloc) and K. Raja (Desiya Forward Bloc).

As many as 24 independent candidates – N. Azhagumuthu Velayutham, S. Arivudainambi, V. Andisamy, S. Ganesan, A. Kannan, G. Kannan, V. Karuppiah, P. Gopalakrishnan, P. Chandra Bose, K. Thangapandi, S. Bharathi Kannamma, G. Manikandeswaran, G. Mario Joseph, S. Manickavasagam, M. Meenakshisundaram, K.K. Ramesh, T. Ramasamy, V.G. Ramdas, V.G.R. Vasuki, M.Venkatesan, P. Jayakumar, M. Gopalakrishnan, P. Ramasubramanian and N. Arumuga Pandian – are in the fray.

Among those rejected were independent candidates G. Raji Subash and K.M. Muthuraja.

Regarding rejection of their applications, Mr. Subramanian said that Ms. Raji’s resignation from the post of deputy commissioner (appeals), commercial taxes, was not accepted by the department. Mr. Muthuraja’s application was rejected as he had not submitted proper documents for the expenditure incurred when he contested in the previous elections,” he said.


Candidates who wish to withdraw their nominations can do so before 3 p.m. on April 9, he added.

More In: Madurai