Three teachers from different schools in the city have been selected for receipt of national awards given away annually on behalf of the Union Ministry of Human Resource Development as part of Teachers Day celebrations on September 5.

H.Kalyanasundaram, headmaster, TVS Higher Secondary School, Lakshmipuram; Shanthi Mohan, vice-principal, Lakshmi School, Veerapanchan, and P.Geetha Saraswathi, headmistress of Mangayarkarasi Middle School at Maninagaram, have been selected from Madurai this year.

According to individual communications received by them from the Department of School Education and Literacy under the Union Ministry, President Pranab Mukherjee will give away the awards at a function in New Delhi on September 5.

The award carries a certificate of merit, a cash prize of Rs.25,000 and a silver medal. Each awardee is entitled to reimbursement of air-conditioned second class rail fare for two persons. They will be provided free boarding, lodging and transport facilities during their stay in New Delhi between September 2 and 6 and taken to pay a courtesy call on Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on September 3.