Less than 1 per cent rise from the election in 2009

The voter turnout in the Ernakulam Parliamentary constituency in the 16th Lok Sabha elections registered a slight increase, being pegged at 73.56 per cent in the final analysis of the Election Commission.

The constituency witnessed a minor rise of 0.78 per cent in polling compared with the elections held five years ago when 72.78 per cent voters cast their votes.

The Election Commission had reached a provisional figure of 73.2 per cent at the end of polling on Thursday.

All Assembly segments in the constituency except for Kochi and Ernakulam, recorded voter turnouts in excess of 70 per cent. Kochi was at the bottom of the list with a polling per cent of 68.39 per cent followed by Ernakulam with 68.71 per cent.

Paravur Assembly constituency recorded the highest voter turnout of 79.09 per cent. While 75.95 per cent voters turned up at Kalamassery, it was 74.79 per cent in Vypeen. The voter turnout in Tripunithura Assembly constituency was 73.79 per cent compared with 72.76 per cent in Thrikkakara Assembly constituency.

Dip in voting

Interestingly, Kochi Assembly constituency alone registered a dip in voting compared with the elections held in 2009. The voter turnout in Kochi dropped from 70.44 per cent five years ago to 68.39 per cent in this election.

Voting in all the other six Assembly constituencies registered a marginal increase compared with the previous election. In fact, the increase was in excess of two per cent in Ernakulam, Thrikkakara, and Paravur Assembly constituencies.

The voter turnout in Paravur increased from 77.62 per cent to 79.09 per cent, while in Ernakulam it increased from 66.97 per cent to 68.71 per cent and in Thrikkakara from 69.96 per cent to 72.16 per cent.

The polling per cent in Kalamassery increased from 75.28 per cent to 75.95 per cent, in Vypeen from 74.48 to 74.79 per cent and in Tripunithura the voter turnout increased from 73.13 per cent to 73.79 per cent.

Besides having four Assembly constituencies that were part of Chalakudy Parliamentary constituency, the district had three other Assembly constituencies, which were part of Idukki and Kottayam Parliamentary constituencies.

Piravom Assembly constituency, which was part of Kottayam Parliamentary constituency, registered 72.91 per cent voter turnout. Kothamangalam and Muvattupuzha constituencies part of Idukki, registered a voter turnout of 73.84 per cent and 72.56 per cent respectively.


Constituency watch: KeralaMarch 7, 2014