United Democratic Front broke Left Democratic Front’s more than a quarter-of-a-century-old hold over Ernakulam District Cooperative Bank in Sunday’s elections 10 seats to nine.

Both the UDF and LDF panels saw their presidential candidates — K.P. Baby and N.P. Paulose (UDF) and V. P. Sasheendran (LDF) romping home.

The other UDF candidates who have made to the Board of Directors are: John Ribello, A. G. George, E. K. Sethu, P. P. Uthuppan, Benny Paul, Johny Arikkottel, Usha Shashidharan and Omana Chandrashekharan.

Sheeja Siddique of the UDF was eliminated through casting of lots after she was tied at 334 votes with Usha Shashidharan in the women’s reservation seat, said the returning officer for the elections, which started at 7 a. m. Sunday’s elections saw 682 votes being cast against the total voters of 689.

The LDF candidates who made to the board of directors are: M. E. Hassainar, K. B. Arumughan, Jaya Soman, K. V. Kuttappan, Varghese Moolan, P. R. Muraleedharan, V. A. Kunhumohudheen and N. A. Mohammedkutty.

EDCB, arguably the best known district cooperative bank in the State, has had a chequered career under LDF leadership, starting 1987 when the panel led by M. M. Monaye won majority seats to the board of directors. Mr. Monaye stepped down as president of the bank in 2008 and P. P. Shasheendran took charge until the board was disbanded in February 2012 under an ordinance from the State government.

During the period, the bank’s deposit grew from Rs. 32 crore to about Rs. 3,000 crore and profits grew to about Rs. 40 crore.

More In: Kochi | Kerala | National