Corporation delegation meets Chandy

Chief Minister Oommen Chandy has directed the Kochi Corporation to decide on the proposed solid waste plant at Brahmapuram. The directive was issued at a meeting the civic representatives had with the Chief Minister at Thiruvananthapuram on Tuesday, said Tony Chammany, Kochi Mayor.

The meeting was held as a follow-up of the visit of the Corporation authorities to a solid waste treatment plant in Coimbatore.

The delegation apprised the Chief Minister of the existing situation at Brahmapuram and the need for a new plant. It was communicated to the Chief Minister that the existing plant was insufficient to process the waste generated in the city. The Chief Minister, after listening to a presentation made by the Corporation authorities, asked the Kochi Corporation to decide on the new plant at the earliest. Mr. Chandy was informed that the existing plant did not have the capacity to process the huge quantity of waste accumulated at the plant site, and the only viable solution to clear the backlog was to cap the waste using the technology of plastic welding. Maintenance work would be carried out on the existing plant and it would be run till the new one is set up. The Chief Minister also gave the green signal to these proposals, the Mayor said.

The civic authorities of Coimbatore had capped over 1.5 lakh tonnes of waste at their plant site as part of the efforts to clear the accumulated waste. Considering the situation at Kochi, the Chief Minister directed the civic body to go ahead with the periodic capping of waste and processing at the plant, he said.

Regarding the new plant, Mr. Chammany said that the council was open to proposals on the technology to be employed. Several proposals, including generation of power from waste, had come up before the civic body. However, an expert panel would decide on the suitable technology and the Principal Secretary to the Local Self-Government Department would coordinate the selection process, he said.

Besides the Mayor, Dominic Presentation, Hibi Eden and Benny Behannan, MLAs; Deputy Mayor B. Bhadra; Standing committee chairpersons K.J. Sohan, T.K. Ashraf and Soumini Jain; and Corporation secretary Ajith B. Patil were part of the delegation.

More In: Kochi | Kerala | National