Subroto Chattopadhyay, Chairman of The Peninsula Foundation, has been unanimously elected chairman of the Audit Bureau of Circulations (ABC) for 2009-10.

Vijay Darda, Chairman of the Lokmat Group which represents Lokmat (a Marathi daily), was unanimously elected deputy chairman, an ABC release said.

The elections were held at the 61st Annual General Meeting of the Bureau here on Monday.

Mr. Chattopahdhyay earlier worked at ITC and Pepsico, where he was Executive Director. He was also chairman of the Indian Music Industries and trustee of the Washington-based development agency, Technoserve.

Ravi Pisharody, President of the Commercial Vehicle Business Unit at Tata Motors; Vikram Sakhuja, CEO-South Asia of Group M Media India; and Aritra Sarkar of the ABP Group were the new members of the Bureau’s Council of Management.

The ABC, founded in 1948, is an organisation of publishers, advertisers and advertising agencies whose main function is to evolve and lay down a standard and uniform procedure by which a member-publisher shall compute its net paid sales.

More In: Hyderabad | Business