Several Congress leaders along with their supporters including Gangadhara Nellore MLA G. Kutuhalamma from Chittoor and MLC G. Thippeswamy from Anantapur, joined the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) here, on Monday.

They were welcomed by party president N. Chandrababu Naidu. Notable among others who joined the TDP were: former MLAs N. Varadarajulu Reddy and Ramesh Reddy from Kadapa district and Venkataramana from Chittooor.

Besides, Congress constituency in-charges G. Shankar Yadav (Tamballapalle), Hariprasad (Tirupati) and D. Dorababu (Peddapuram), former MP D. Pullaiah’s son, D. Ramesh Babu, were among others who joined the TDP.

Mr. Thippeswamy, who also held the Zilla Parishad chairman’s post in the past, is a confidante of N. Raghuveera Reddy, president of the newly-formed Seemandhra PCC.

Congress MLA from Guntakal, K. Madhusudhan Gupta, and former MLA Thota Narasimham also met Mr. Naidu on Monday but their entry into TDP was not finalised.