Residents of Marredpally division unhappy with the pathetic state of amenities, pot-holed roads and overflowing sewers

Secunderabad Cantonment Assembly constituency has only two municipal divisions – Marredpally and Ramgopalpet. The ongoing tussle between the sitting Congress MLA P. Shankar Rao and Cantonment Board members and local MP S. Satyanarayana has led to the political atmosphere heating up.

Marredpally division formed with incorporation by Rezimental Bazar also got in the news when ,esidents announced they would boycott the polls angry with the pathetic state of civic amenities in their area especially pot-holed roads and overflowing sewers. Telugu Desam's ex-corporator Anita Yadav is slotted against Congress G. Saritha Yadav, while there is also the ruling party's rebel candidate – Sarita Yadav who could just upset the applecart. A senior BJP leader's wife, Sunita, too is in the race and votes for her could also have a say in the final result.

Ramgopalpet division has been divided with a large part of it moved to Sanatnagar Assembly constituency. It covers areas of Pot Bazar, Monda and environs where TDP claims to have a sizeable hold. Congress Party ignoring the claim of ex-corporator S. Prabhakar to allot ticket to his wife too could go to its advantage. A. Roopa of TDP is pitted against Kiranmayee of Congress with Praja Rajyam's K. Smitha Priya Yadav too likely to walk away with a few votes. Here too its sanitation and roads, which are the civic issues bothering the public.

More In: Hyderabad