The State capital will experience major power supply problems this week following the breakdown of the 220 KV line between Kothagudem and Budimpadu in Khammam district on Friday. The area witnessed strong gales on Friday.

Power supply authorities have launched repair works on a war footing, but caution that power supply disruptions would be unavoidable in major parts of the city. Authorities said five towers had completely collapsed and cross arms of three more towers were found damaged.

Three spare towers, two from Hyderabad and one from Visakhapatnam were being rushed to the locations and the work of erection would commence immediately. An agency has already been approached to fabricate two more towers and it would take two days for them to fabricate them.

In view of the constraint on power evacuation to an extent of 400 MW from KTPS, authorities are now planning to purchase power from outside till normal power supply was restored.

To prevent such incidents in future, power officials have decided to request the JNTU to study the design of the towers and suggest methods to strengthen them.

Metro zone areas under the 132 KV Gunrock Sub-Station such as HMT, R.P. Nilayam, Marredpally, Nehrunagar, Gunrock and Bowenpally are likely to be affected.

Also, the other sub-stations that may be affected include Sitafalmandi, Chilkalguda, Pattigadda, Bansilalpet, IDPL, Prashanth Nagar, Balanagar, Erragadda, Hussainsagar, Moula Ali, NGRI, Jeedimetla, Dollarum, R.C. Puram, Gachibowli, Gummadidala, Narsapur and Bibinagar, informed a release from the Central Power Distribution Company of A.P. Ltd.

Meanwhile, a separate release said there will be no power supply in the following areas on Saturday.

From 9 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Madhura Nagar, Jawahar Nagar, Yousufguda Main Road, Devaraya Nagar, Ganapathi Complex, Sara Depot

From 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.

NBT Nagar, Hussain Nagar, Chiran Fort Club, IAL Colony, Alwal Pump House, Om Sai Colony, G.V. Reddy Colony, Janapriya Apartments

From 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Balaji Enclave, Gun Rock Phase-II, Raghava Colony, SBI Colony

From 2 to 5 p.m

Madhura Nagar, Jawahar Nagar, Yousufguda Main Road, Devaraya Nagar, Ganapathi Complex, Sara Depot, Prakash Nagar,

Pattigadda Colony, ABCD Government Quarters

From 3 to 5.30 p.m.

Maruthi Nagar, MCEME , Lal Bazaar, Police Quarters

More In: Hyderabad