Close to 650 runners participated in the 10K run ‘BITSathon’ organised by Birla Institute of Technology and Science (BITS), Pilani at Necklace Road. With a theme ‘Hyderabad for Innovation’, the run attracted large number of students from BITS, Hyderabad, alumni of BITS, Pilani, police personnel, recreations runners and professional athletes from all over India. In the male category, Berendra Kumar emerged victorious followed by Akshay Kumar and Ebenzer who received cash awards of Rs. 50,000, Rs. 10,000 and Rs. 5,000 respectively. The women’s category was won by M. Sruthi, P. Menaka and Taru who received the same cash prize as the male runners.

The BITS alumni prize was won by J. Sidharth Jain and Prajeethe Prabhu who received cash prize of Rs. Rs 6,000 and Rs. 4,000 cash. The winners in the female category in the same group include Babitha and Himshi who received the same cash prize as their male counterparts.

Director General, Anti-Corruption Bureau, A. K. Khan, Director, BITS Pilani, Hyderabad, Professor V. S. Rao, alumni members of 1972 batch of BITS Pilani and others were present.

More In: Hyderabad