All 24 party candidates for constituencies in and around city identified

For Telugu Desam Party (TDP) which stakes claim for Hyderabad’s emergence on global map, garnering a chunk of votes and winning a good number of Assembly seats in coming elections here has become crucial.

The Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) jurisdiction encompass 24 Assembly constituencies, but the TDP has a woeful presence with just one MLA i.e., Prakash Goud representing Rajendra Nagar.

Bigwigs lose in 2009

Several bigwigs of the party from the city including former Ministers, K. Vijaya Rama Rao and T. Srinivas Yadav and others seniors such as G.Sayanna, who was earlier elected thrice from Secunderabad Cantonment, failed to win in the last elections.

This time around, the party’s city unit says it was all geared to make up for losses incurred in the last polls.

“People of Hyderabad are feeling the difference that our governance made and will surely support us,” says TDP city president T. Srinivas Yadav.

According to him, the party’s local unit has already identified candidates to enter the fray in all the 24 Assembly constituencies in and around the city.

“We are well placed to stage a come back,” he claims. Yet, the unit is waiting for the party leadership to take a call on the issue of poll alliances and hopes the process will be through in next six to seven days.

The party leaders here feel that TDP during its governance played a major role in propelling Hyderabad as a global city by ushering in IT industry and improvement in infrastructure. “Voters are fed up with inflation and remember us for keeping prices of essential commodities under check and also for projects such as Krishna river water and introducing MMTS,” Mr.Yadav adds.