Both parties agree for alliance in 16 Assembly, two LS seats

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) and the Jai Samaikyandhra Party which took a clear stand against bifurcation came to an electoral understanding for 16 Assembly and two Lok Sabha constituencies in Seemandhra.

The CPI(M) on Tuesday announced candidates for 54 Assembly and nine Lok Sabha candidates.

However, in view of the ongoing talks for seat sharing between the two parties here on Wednesday, the party may withdraw some candidates based on the final outcome of the talks.

CPI(M) leader P. Madhu told The Hindu that the Jai Samaikyandhra Party had agreed to support CPI(M) candidates in 23 Assembly constituencies.

Discussions on

The JSP will also extend support to the Left party in Tirupati and Araku Lok Sabha constituencies.

JSP chief N. Kiran Kumar Reddy said he didn’t see any hassle in having a truck with the CPI(M) as both the parties have been strong votaries of a united AP.

Discussions are on to avoid confrontation in the constituencies where both parties fielded candidates.

Mr. Kiran Reddy said the JSP had announced candidates in about 100 Assembly seats and names of the remaining seats would be announced after reaching an understanding with the CPI(M).

The CPI(M) also sought support in Visakhapatnam and Vijayawada Lok Sabha seats and for Mylavaram (Krishna district), Araku (Vizag), Kadapa, Santanuthalapadu (Ongole district) assembly segments.

Last date for nominations

A final electoral understanding on remaining seats would be wrapped up by April 20 as April 23 is the last date for withdrawal of nominations.

More In: Hyderabad