The Engineering Agriculture and Medical Common Entrance Test (Eamcet) this year will see several changes like introduction of students’ thumb impression, marking the answer sheets with pens, inclusion of mother’s maiden name and mention of parents’ income in the application form.

The test will be held on May 10 and the results will be released on June 2. The medical stream results, however, will be linked to the final outcome of the case in the Supreme Court with regard to the National Entrance-cum-Eligibility Test (NEET). The last date for submission of forms is March 27 and the notification carrying all the details will be released on February 8, said the Eamcet-2013 Convenor N.V. Ramana Rao.

Prof. Rao said that from this year, blue or black ballpoint pen has to be used for darkening the circles in the answer sheets and pencils will not be allowed. Candidates have to get their own pens. Candidates also need to fill their mother’s name in the application form that has to be submitted online. A colour photograph attested by the college principal has to be scanned and attached to the online form. Exam fee of Rs. 250 has to be paid through AP Online, E-Seva or Mee Seva centres. In the examination hall, the left hand thumb impression will be taken from every candidate.

This year, ranks will be calculated taking into consideration 25 per cent weightage of marks secured in the Intermediate annual examinations and not the advanced supplementary exams. “We will declare the results on June 2 with the latest available data,” Prof. Rao said. “We will not wait for supplementary exam results.”

Qualifying mark will be 40 out of 160 marks. Though no minimum qualifying mark is prescribed for SC and ST candidates, their admission will, however, be limited to the extent of seats reserved for them. Four new regional centres at Bhimavaram, Chittoor, Janagam and Wanaparthy have been added to the existing 26 regional centres.

Eamcet centres in four city zones

For the benefit of students appearing from Hyderabad, the city will be divided into four zones – East, West, North and South. Examination centres will be allotted in the same zone where the candidates reside. It means a student staying in Vanasthalipuram will not get a centre in Kukatpally or BHEL or vice versa. This will cut down the travel time and students can reach the centres on time.

Hyderabad West - Kukatpally, Qutbullapur, Patancheru, Serilingampally, Sanathnagar, Secunderabad Cantonment

Hyderabad North - Amberpet, Musheerabad, Secunderabad, Malkajgiri, Uppal, L.B Nagar

Hyderabad Central - Khairatabad, Nampally, Jubilee Hills, Malakpet, Karwan, Goshamahal

Hyderabad South - Chandrayangutta, Maheshwaram, Rajendranagar, Yakutpura, Bahadurpura, Charminar