The Andhra Pradesh unit of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday initiated disciplinary action against its two Zilla Parishad members and four municipal councillors in Karimnagar district for violating party direction in the recent elections to local bodies.

While Srikumar and Jayalakshmi, members of Karimnagar Zilla parishad, have been suspended, show cause notices were issued to four councillors of Metpalli Municipality—Ch Sukender, Lavanya, M. Pochaiah and Gangaiah for violating the party direction in exercising their votes during the local body elections, party spokesperson N. Ramachander Rao told pressmen here.

He alleged that the ruling Congress party indulged in horse trading in the elections which won five ZP chairmanships including Karimnagar.

Referring to the membership drive, Mr. Rao said over five lakh persons have been enrolled as new members in the first phase.

The second phase of the membership drive would be launched after completion of organisational elections for the state unit by November next, Mr. Rao said.

Reacting on a news report that Chief Minister K. Rosaiah would shift to ” C” block (official chamber of the Chief Minister)in secretariat by October 5, he said the party would welcome the decision which would help the smooth functioning of state machinery as the state is now facing problems of swine flu, drought and floods.