Slated for a September opening, preparations for the initiation of the Delhi Metro's Central Secretariat–Badarpur corridor are on in full swing. To ensure there are no gaps in the smooth functioning of the 20-km-long corridor that will cater to a large section of the city's population, the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation has already begun procuring trains for the section.

A DMRC spokesperson said trains have begun to arrive for the corridor that is due to be opened to the public before the Commonwealth Games.

“Six new standard gauge metro trains have already arrived at the Sarita Vihar Depot located on this line. All the six trains are presently being assembled in the depot and they will be tested for technical fitness before undergoing for testing on the main line for load and braking” the spokesperson said.

A total of 25 trains, which have four coaches each, will be used on the Central Secretariat-Badarpur corridor initially. The number and frequency will be changed depending on the passenger rush. The line is expected to cater to about 3.6 lakh passengers per day by 2011.

Badarpur's proximity to Faridabad in Haryana is expected to draw a large number of commuters to the system.

“The Delhi Metro had ordered 46 standard gauge trains for Phase II of its project from a consortium of MRMB -- Mitsubishi, ROTEM, Mitsubishi Electric Corporation and Bharat Earth Movers Ltd. Of the 46 trains, 11 are already running on the Inderlok –Mundka corridor,” said the spokesperson.

The Delhi Metro will provide easy connectivity to three venues of the Commonwealth Games 2010, the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium near the JLN Stadium metro station, National Stadium near the Central Secretariat metro station and Dr. Karni Singh Shooting Range near the Tughlakabad metro station on this line.

The 16 metro stations that will fall on this corridor include Central Secretariat, Khan Market, Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Jangpura, Lajpat Nagar, Moolchand, Kailash Colony, Nehru Place, Kalkaji Mandir, Govindpuri, Okhla, Jasola, Sarita Vihar, Mohan Estate, Tuglakabad and Badarpur.

More In: Delhi