Mayor, Deputy Mayor, Standing Committee members to be elected

With the South Delhi Municipal Corporation due to elect its Mayor and Deputy Mayor on Tuesday, politicking for these posts reached a feverish pitch on Monday as the SDMC is the only corporation where a fractured verdict was delivered in the last civic body elections.

Three Standing Committee members will also be elected here at a meeting which will be held at the Dr. S.P. Mukherjee Civic Centre after the election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

In SDMC, the Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party are also fighting for the post of Chairman of the Central Zone of South Delhi Municipal Corporation. The incumbent and Congress candidate Virender Kasana and Nationalist Congress Party candidate Chandra Prakash are in the fray. There was hectic lobbying for the seats.

The other two Delhi Municipal Corporations have already elected their Mayor and Deputy Mayor. In North DMC, BJP councillor Azad Singh, who was the Deputy Mayor in the last corporation, was elected the Mayor while Poornima Vidyarthi became his deputy.

In East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC), Ram Narayan Dubey of the BJP has been elected the new Mayor. He defeated Congress candidate Rajeev Kumar by a margin of 22 votes. Mahendra Ahuja was elected the Deputy Mayor. Sanjay Surjan and Sanjay Kaushik of the BJP and Varyam Kaur of the Congress were elected members of the Standing Committee.

In these corporations too, a lot of political activity was witnessed during the day. Here the elections for two wards are also scheduled due to the death of the incumbents. BJP candidate Asha Tayal on Monday filed the nomination paper for the Yamuna Vihar ward under the EDMC in the presence of Delhi BJP president Vijay Goel.

Two Congress candidates also filed their nomination papers on Monday. Sushila Agarwal and Ramesh Devi filed their nomination from Ward No. 256 at Yamuna Vihar in EDMC and Ward No. 43 at Nangloi East in North DMC respectively.

More In: Delhi