Ahead of Delhi Assembly elections scheduled later this year, the BJP-led civic bodies have expedited the regularisation process of unauthorized colonies. The South Delhi Municipal Corporation on Tuesday approved regularisation plan of three unauthorized colonies - Rajouri Garden Extension, Meethapur and Badarpur.

SDMC has around 190 such unauthorised colonies in its jurisdiction. Sources said that ahead of the elections the BJP wants to finalise the plans of at least 50 colonies.

The North MCD regularised one colony - Bhagwan Park- in May and East MCD regularised three colonies in January this year.

The Delhi Government had regularised 895 unauthorised colonies out of 1,639 such settlements with certain riders in September last year paving the way for their development on par with other areas in the city.

More In: Delhi