ABVP walks away with majority on the panel

The National Students' Union of India (NSUI) clinched the president's post in the Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) elections, with the remaining posts of vice-president, secretary and joint secretary being scooped up the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) on Saturday.

Law student and NSUI candidate Ajay Chhikara won the president's post by a margin of 2,362 votes in the elections that took place on Friday.

The victorious new president, along with some NSUI members, later proceeded to 10 Janpath to meet Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi, Oscar Fernandes, MukulWasnik and Deepender Singh Hooda.

Mr. Gandhi congratulated the Congress-backed NSUI teams, stating that their presence in DU was finally being re-enforced again.

“My party members have worked hard, and that is why I won. The Congress leadership is also working towards eliminating corruption, that is why the ABVP could not win by riding on the [anti-corruption crusader] Anna [Hazaare] wave here in DU,” said a beaming Mr. Chhikara, who had polled a total of 11,164 votes against the 8,802 votes polled by the second leading ABVP candidate Neha Singh (Buddhist Studies)

“I will fight against corruption and ensure that Other Backward Class students are given their rights, like reserved admissions,” said newly elected vice-president Vikas Choudhary, who won by a margin of 3,780 votes and polled a total of 11,855 votes against the 8,075 votes polled by his closest rival Bhupender Choudhary of the NSUI.

Vikas Yadav polled a total of 8,365 votes clinching the secretary's post by a margin of 2,291 votes from nearest rival Parag Sharma of the NSUI.

Newly-elected joint-secretary Deepak Bansal, who polled 8,404 votes and won by a margin of 2,105 votes, promised to bring the east campus at par with the north campus in terms of infrastructure and colleges.

“Most of my voters are from trans-Yamuna where I live, and I will work for a campus like the north campus there,” he said.

The BJP-backed ABVP celebrated their victory at the organisation's head-quarters.

Incidentally, the third runner-up for the president's post, Amit Srivastava, was from the Left-affiliated All India Students' Association. He managed to poll 2,073 votes.

The All India Students' Federation (AISF) and the Students' Federation of India (SFI), who had tied up to contest this year's election, managed to come third in the battle for the post of vice-president. SFI candidate Ritu Priya bagged 2,247 votes.

The post of joint secretary had SFI candidate Ajay Kumar coming third with 4123 votes.

Keywords: NSUIDUSUelectioncorruption