The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation has extended the trial run for the Central Secretariat – Badarpur corridor up to Sarita Vihar Depot from Monday. According to the DMRC officials the energisation of the Over-Head Electrification (0HE) along this section is now complete.

The Central Secretariat – Badarpur corridor has to be commissioned before the starting of the Commonwealth Games on October 3.

“With this, the trial runs have been extended to Jasola and Sarita Vihar Metro stations and also to the Sarita Vihar Depot covering a total distance of 15 km of the 20 km-long Central Secretariat – Badarpur Standard Gauge corridor,” said a DMRC spokesperson.

This whole stretch undergoing the Metro train trial run at present covers 13 Metro stations and the Sarita Vihar depot. Along this line Lajpat Nagar, Moolchand, Kailash Colony, Nehru Place, Kalkaji Mandir, Govindpuri, Okhla, Jasola and Sarita Vihar are elevated Metro stations while the Central Secretariat, Khan Market, JLN Stadium and Jangpura stations are all underground.

Earlier, the trial run had been extended from Lajpat Nagar to Okhla on September 16. “This line is one of the most challenging lines to construct for DMRC as the total time available for the construction was extremely short. We had 41 months available for the construction. The line was sanctioned on April 20, 2007 and the DMRC intends to commission the same this month before the Commonwealth Games,” the spokesperson said.

Keywords: Delhi Metro

More In: Delhi